Ideas for packed lunches

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Lizzy
    on

Hi
    I’m a newbie only on day 2 of this lifestyle change.
    I work 11 1/2 HR shifts as a nurse and will need to take packed lunches now not involving sandwiches. Don’t always have access to a microwave, any ideas to keep me on track?

• posted by NewLife
    on

Hi Lizzy – how about a big serving of salad with cottage cheese/hardboiled eggs/mackerel fillets/chicken breast?

Full-fat yoghurt with berries, apple, seeds.

I’m sure others will be along soon with more ideas 🙂

• posted by chezza1961
    on

Hi Lizzy

Try making the egg muffins and take them with salad and fruit – keeping within your daily limits. Also the indulgent prawn salad recipe I posted is great for a packed lunch. I have had Ryvita with Cottage Cheese or with laughing cow light cheese triangles. One Rivita is only .5 g of carbs and the seeded ones are lovely. You could get away with 3 Ryvia if youre really hungry. AGain with salad. Hard Boiled eggs and salad or on the days you can get to a microwave the cream of mushroom soup if you want something hot with a Ryvita crumbled into it. Again keep count of your carbs and you should be fine. Im on day 3 for the secone attempt. Weighed myself this morning the scales say 5lb loss!!! Given youre a nurse and run off your feet each shift hopefully all this will fit in.

Good luck

• posted by orchid
    on