Help !! Morning fasting level still high

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by smith
    on

Good morning all
    Recent diagnosis 20th December- Christmas was a challenge but I have managed to loose 9lbs – wasn’t the perfect 800 diet but did well ! Have only just started testing blood sugars (today) and would have expected a lower reading that 7.5 by now but I don’t know anything at the mo ! Would really appreciate advice and hear other people’s experiences !
    Thank you xxx

• posted by VictoriaM
    on

Hi, I’m not an expert, there are people on here with a lot more experience than me. I’ve been Type 2 diagnosed for 3 years but I’ve only been doing BSD since the beginning of December, and then restarted after a Christmas blip.

Both times it took several (3 to 6) days of 20 carbs to get my fasting blood sugar down under 6. You mentioned that you did 800 but not whether you were doing very low carbs.

Stick to it, it will work and is great when it does.

• posted by sunshine-girl
    on

Hi smith. Firstly you dont say what your fasting BG was before or when you were diagnosed. I assume you mean first thing in the morning before food. Has it gone down at all. Are you following the full 800 Fast with no bad carbs. Assuming you are doing everything right you might want to consider the Dawn Phenomenon which means that, because you are ‘fasting’ or not eating very much your body thinks it is being starved and during the sleeping hours the liver pumps some glucose into your blood stream so you dont wake up dead (my little joke). Anyway, to combat this you can tell your body you are not starving by having a small BDS friendly snack before you go to be – around 10pm is good. This can be a piece of cheese, a slice of chicken or ham or a small natural yoghurt with a few berries.