Going on holiday

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Elle-Mae
    on

Hello, I am new to this, just one week in. I really want to give the BSD a go. In 4 weeks time we are going away for a few days, any advice on how to cope, whilst staying at a hotel and eating out?

• posted by sunshine-girl
    on

Hi Elle-Mae, I see you are on the weekly thread. Ask your question there or do a search in the search engine at the top of the page. The only thing I can say is to not eat the carbs, ask for extra veg or salad and watch the alcohol. Not rocket science really and maybe someone else can give you some tips. As a diabetic I sometimes say I cant eat carbs but that has backfired. Like the time I ordered beef bourginone and said no chip so they brought them on a side plate in case I changed my mind – nudge, nudge, wink, wink. Yes the waitress actually said that. Didnt realise it was the temptation. Fortunately we were with a group of people and I just pushed the chips to the other end of the table and they were gone in seconds.

You have been diagnosed as T2 so you just have to remember this is not a vanity thing and you need to get that diagnosis reversed or at least improved in the first instance. You can tell a white lie and say you have a medical problem and cannot eat the carbs and it really is the truth. See you on other posts.

• posted by Elle-Mae
    on

Ty for your reply sunshine-girl. Luckily I don’t drink alcohol so that won’t be a problem. 😂 I intend to try to be as good as possible 🤞. Just kinda concerned that the menus won’t have suitable choices.

• posted by RubyG
    on