Gastric bypass

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Ann1960
    on

Hi this is my first time on here. I had a gastric bypass in 2007 and lost a lot of weight but I looked terrible so I started eating again and learnt I could snack. I have recently found out I am pre diabetic so decided to read dr mosleys book and it makes complete sense. I have lost 3 kg already ( about 10 days) I don’t want to diet I want to make this a way of life. I am not a salad lover so looking forward to seeing low suger recipes. I have stopped eating microwave meals and most of my meals are freshly prepared. I now have scrambled egg and mushrooms for breakfast which sees me through to tea time which can consist of stuffed mushrooms or home made shepherds pie. I am not drinking any fizzy drinks or dressings. If there is anyone else post gastric bypass I would love to here from you.

• posted by Izzy
    on

Hi I’ve not had a bypass but I thought I would bump your thread to make sure others see it. I don’t really remember anyone talking about one but that doesn’t mean there are not others here.

Not meaning to poke holes in your food but are you eating less than 800 calories? unless you are having big portions you might not be eating enough, also are you having some good fats? Have you swapped out the potatoes in your shepherds pie? Dressings of the right type would be fine if you like them, using healthy oils etc, a few nuts etc.

If you are regularly under on calories maybe add a small lunch.

I don’t like a lot of salad either but I love a tray of baked veg like carrot, courgette, tomatoes and onions, all tossed in a bit of olive oil and garlic and sometimes some spices. Be adventurous and check out the recipe threads.