EXERCISING ON THE BSD

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Rhi1990
    on

Hi Everyone!

I’m a newbie on my 5th day of the BSD and I need some advice about working out.

I’m training for a 10k run which is in about 2 weeks but my energy levels have been so low the first few days of this diet that I haven’t been able to do any exercise as just getting through the day with the hunger pangs has been difficult. I absolutely have to do a big run this weekend and was wondering if i should up my cals slightly, not run or just grin and bear it with 800 cals.

I’ve been eating about 900 cals a day at the moment because I was getting light headed standing and needed more energy.

I’m not diabetic or pre-diabetic but I have PCOS so have a higher risk of developing it in later life. I’m 5 ft 8 and 13 st 2 currently. I was 14 stone 2 on January 1st 2017 so have already lost a stone from sticking to 1200 cals and hard exercise 5 times a week and hope to lose another 3 before summer with the BSD.

Any advice about hard work outs/ long runs on this diet will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

• posted by Jande9
    on

I am no expert but I would definitely do some carb loading the night before, and then carb up on the day. It doesn’t sound like those carbs will get anywhere close to being stored as fat considering how much you are working out, and feeling faint isn’t good. I felt faint occasionally in the beginning until I upped my fluid intake which seemed to help.

Jan

• posted by AnnieW
    on