Day 1

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by ColandClaire
    on

Today is day 1 on the BSD for myself and the wife we both have type 2 diabetes and are overweight, we’ve slowly stocked the cupboard up with ingredients we’ve never eaten and even bought a new food processor! This regime us now or never, we are doing this for ourselves, each other and also the kids. One question though is are there any lunches that can be picked at and don’t require cooking as I am a van driver and don’t get to have a lunch break as such. I am trying the ploughman’s from the book but don’t think I can eat it five days a week! Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

• posted by Bill1954
    on

Any salad, fritatta, humus with veg dippers are easy and quick.
    Check out the what have you been eating thread for loads of other recipes.
    At the start I considered myself to be in the last chance saloon, now I feel I have a whole new life after just 15 weeks
    down from 16:9 to 13:13 with blood sugars almost normal without meds
    Best of luck to both of you and if yu run nto any problems, just give us a shout, we’re all here to help 🙂

• posted by ColandClaire
    on

Cheers Bill1954 will have a look at those recipes when I get home.

• posted by ColandClaire
    on

Well into Day 4 and although I have those hunger pangs sometimes I can beat it down with drinking some water. In the first few days I have lost 7 lbs in weight with the missus losing 4! The problem we have is what to have to eat as there is so many choices and we are trying foods that we have never eaten before. I was so proud of resisting temptation like sweets being left in my van by another driver walking through the supermarket and breezing past the chocolate bars. Long may it continue!!!!!

• posted by Switzerland
    on