3 days in and feeling bad, how long til it passes?

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by kjh35
    on

Hi all,
    This is my first time on the fast 800. I’m currently on day 3, eating only lunch and dinner as I have always skipped breakfast and find it much easier to eat in a more narrow window. Am sticking to 800 and as best I can eating a high protein, low carb diet. Found lots of tips and ideas from the books and will be using a lot of those recipes. It’a a learning curve for sure but now know what I can and can’t eat. Also been drinking tons of water.
    I feel hungry, but not overwhelming so – it doesn’t bother me. However, the past 2 days I have been extremely lightheaded and tired. Almost like a drunk airy feeling. It’s pretty awful. I’ve read different things about this, i.e the ‘carb flu’ but most things I’ve read said people usually get this after more than 3 days. Is it normal to feel this way so soon? And if others have experienced it – how long does it last?
    If I know it goes away, I will push on, but I can’t imagine feeling like this for weeks!
    Thank you all!

• posted by sunshine-girl
    on

Hi kjh, the yucky feeling will pass fairly soon. Your body is probably used to around 2000 cals a day so this is a big hit, even if you had 1500, this is the lowest you have probably ever been. Also your body is missing the carbs but dont give in to it. It is carbs that make you hungry, hold lots of fluid and gives you cravings. Once you can get through that you will start to feel so much better. Try to take things easy in the early days.