Hello! BSD newbie here :)

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Flash21
    on

Hello everyone,

I’ve finally plucked up the courage to register on this site properly and join the forums after lurking around for a while. I’ve come to the point where I realise I absolutely HAVE to do something about my health and weight or otherwise I’ll be looking at a very miserable future! Being tested for Type 2 diabetes on Friday and am also recovering from/suffering with extensive back problems (3 slipped discs and degenerative disc disease) – neither of which are being helped by being significantly overweight….However, despite these and other problems looming over me, I find diet willpower very hard to come by! I’m full of good intentions, read all the books, do the shopping and so on but the minute someone says “fancy a takeaway?” or “here’s some chocolate” and all my determination dissolves. I did once lose a good 3 stone (42lbs) but since then I’ve let it all pile back on and more. So, I’m looking to use the BSD to turn things around. I want to lose a minimum of 100lbs but need to break this down into more manageable goals! I’m aiming to use these forums as a way of keeping accountable and motivated and look forward to “meeting” everyone here. What advice can you give a newbie like me? ๐Ÿ™‚

• posted by Puneet
    on

Good on you for trying again.

i did the same thing. Four years ago when i got diagnosed with diabetes 2, I lost 13 kgs through a similar diet(I was not aware of BSD at that time). My sugar levels were great and felt so much better. However, changed jobs, highly stressful and with in 6 months all weight was back on and sugar levels were again scary.