Grams of carbs per day

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by Heather 44
    on

Hi all I’m just preparing to start the BSD and am a total newbie to it. I’m vegetarian but that doesn’t seem to be a problem as there seems to be lots of great food to eat. However I can’t seem to find a definitive answer to how many carbs we should be eating a day. 50 g per day seems to get bandied around lot but couldn’t find that in the book ( I have read it honest!) so I’m just looking for thoughts on this?

Ta

Heather

• posted by AnnieW
    on

Hi and welcome. The book doesn’t mention carbs, focuses on the 800 cals but many folk on here with blood sugar issues keep their carbs at 50 and below. If you are doing this for weight loss only then keeping them below 100 should be ok, but the lower the better really. Best wishes for the outcome you are aiming for.

• posted by Mixnmatch
    on

It isn’t in the book as a limit, but keto and other low carb sites use it as a level at which for almost all people the body enters ketosis which will maximise the fat burning capabilities of your metabolism. Some people go as low as 20g if they feel it works better, particularly those needing to lower blood sugar drastically, and likewise some vegetarians particularly have lost weight and entered ketosis on 60g or so which is easier to achieve with their protein demands. Likewise people with a lot to lose sometimes start at 1000 calories a day rather than 800 if they are not diabetic. There will be an ideal path for you, but as everyone is different we can only advise in general terms and you will need to find your own path. Good luck, and welcome to the forum, let us know what you plan to do and we can offer you more specific advice about many aspects of this way of eating.

• posted by Californiagirl
    on