Science behind alternative flours

We have not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you are have any health related symptoms or concerns, you should contact your doctor who will be able to give you advice specific to your situation.

• posted by astrid1000
    on

Hi

I was wondering what information was available to assess whether there is a real benefit in using alternative flours such as chickpea, buckwheat or coconut flours.

Given the premise is to reduce carb intake, is it worthwhile to use these flours? For example, I found a recipe for a pizza base using chickpea flour, oil and water. Is this helpful in reducing blood sugar levels? Or is it the case that if I want to make a pizza then do it the traditional way and see it as a treat, rather than kid myself that the alternative is the ‘healthy’ option?

Thanks

• posted by RozyDozy
    on

Hi astrid1000,
    I’m no flour expert so not properly qualified to answer your query, can only give my opinion based on experience. There is a bewildering array of flours to choose from these days, and highly priced. I don’t want to load up my cupboards with too many of them and over time I’ve discovered a few recipes that I do make again & again so it’s worth me buying the relevant flours.

Coconut flour (and oil) – got to be honest, not my favourite cooking ingredient! I love the coconut aroma but you’ve got to get the liquids right for an acceptable result. I think coconut’s big plus is the triglycerides, supposed to help in weight loss – I’m sure someone with more knowledge than me will explain better! 🙂